This article explains the billing sections of the Membership feature.
The information in this article is relevant to businesses using PhorestPay.
Video Guide
Step-by-Step Guide
You can access the Membership billing tab by going to Manager > Memberships > Billing.
The Billing screen is broken into three sections: Billing Due, Billing Failed, and Billed OK.
In this Article
Billing Due
The billing due screen displays all client memberships scheduled for billing on that day.
There are three options in the lower corner.
Skip Billing: The client will not be billed for this month; they will be billed the same day the following month. The client will not receive any credits for the skipped month.
Manually Billed: This will give the client the credit for the membership period without charging their card.
Charge: Bill the client now instead of waiting for the system to bill automatically that night. This will immediately start the new membership period and give the client credits.
Billing Failed
The Billing Failed screen will display all memberships that failed to bill, along with their status and decline reason.
This screen displays two options: Freeze Membership, which suspends billing until the freeze is lifted, and Move to Billing Due Tab, which allows you to attempt to charge the client again.
Handling Memberships With Multiple Missed Billings
If a membership has been in Billing Failed for more than one billing cycle, be careful when attempting to collect payment again. Charging can result in the client being charged for more than one missed billing period at once.
If the client only wants billing to resume from now (and not collect payment for previous months), we recommend processing each missed billing period individually instead:
In Manager > Memberships > Billing, open Billing Failed, then select the client's Memberships and choose Move to Billing Due Tab.
Then switch to the Billing Due tab, select the Membership again, and choose one of the following for the billing period (the one listed under Due Date):
- Skip Billing (to move the billing date forward without charging and without giving credits for that month)
- Manually Billed (to move the billing date forward and give credits for that month without charging the card)
The membership will remain in the Billing Due tab, and the Due Date will automatically move to the next billing period.
Repeat these steps until the membership is back up to the current billing date.
You can also update a client’s Next billing date manually by going to Client Memberships, selecting the client’s Membership, and then changing the Next Billing Date. Just keep in mind, it can only be set to today’s date (not a past date), so it won’t work if you need to skip over missed months from earlier.
Billed OK
The Billed OK screen displays all memberships that were billed successfully.
Refunding a Membership Fee
You can refund a Membership fee by going to Manager > Sales > Finding the sale, and clicking Refund. For a detailed guide on refunding membership fees, click here.